What am I Poems

My second graders are starting a unit on poetry.  As an introduction we read what am I poems.  Each poem described an animal or food. They students enjoyed trying to guess what food/animal it was describing.

For my low language ELL students, I also have vocabulary sheets that they could refer to while guessing.

Then they used a template to write their own what am I poems. There were great for my struggling writers. They did not get overwhelmed with a large amount of writing, and were very excited to have their peers guess what their poem was describing.

These task cards and writing templates are available on my TPT store.

What am I poetry Bundle

What am I Poems

 

Leave a Reply

