Word Walls & Vocabulary Folder

ESOL students benefit from easy access to words.  A movable or portable word wall is one way to increase students exposure to sight words.

In my classroom I have a magnetic word wall.  Sometimes, when students ask for help finding words I will take down two or three words and have them identify the word they are looking for.  Then they have the word at eye level to copy. I have a magnetic chalkboard.  I used sports tape to separate the letters.

When I travel to other classrooms, or work with students that need fewer words to choose from I use a portable word wall. This is made from three file folders glued together. Each word it attached with velcro.

To help students with writing, I have vocabulary folders. They are made with sheet protectors in folders with brads.  These pages are available in my TPT store.

Leave a Reply

